Carnegie Legacy, Generation 4: Charlie

Chapter 4.51- Destiny

Delaney

It’s been two months now and I must say I love working at the hospital with Dr. Clarke. Each day is full of new and exciting things… things that I didn’t even know were possible. Yesterday I saved a woman’s life- yes, ME, I saved her. She was just sitting in the lobby eating lunch waiting for her appointment when she went into full cardiac arrest… I thought she was dead, but she wasn’t… because I saved her.

It was the best feeling in my entire life, I couldn’t even believe it was really happening, you know? One minute she was dead and then the next, she was alive and thanking me.

Aside from the crazy experiences, I’ve also made a few new friends too… Candice Behr (the receptionist) and I have become really close. She’s currently in school to pursue her medical degree. Dr. Clarke, as my Dad said, really is the absolute best- he’s brilliant and not to mention the best surgeon in the country. I feel so lucky to work with him each and everyday. He says that he see’s a lot of potential in me and even offered to send me to medical school… but I just don’t know yet.

I mean, would I be dumb not to take it? Maybe, but it’s not really about the money… money doesn’t matter to me. It’s more for the connections- sure I could always go to medical school on my own, but would it be Oasis Springs Institute of Medicine with a full ride and plenty of mentors in place? Probably not.

I just feel… I don’t know- torn. I know I have a duty to my family as part of a legacy, but there is just something telling me that it’s my destiny to go there and be great. Maybe I’d even become the next world famous surgeon – haha… but really it’s a lot to turn down. I know if l leave though that I won’t be coming back anytime soon and the legacy rules say I have to stay here until the ceremony. I hate it… I hate being forced into this- but I guess has anyone in my family really ever had a choice?

*beep beep* My pager read 9-1-1 RM 103. Crap that was Leah Evans room… the woman I saved yesterday and 9-1-1 was not the code I wanted to see. I sprang up from the old medical cot in the staff lounge and sprinted to Room 103.

“Ms. Evans, Dr.Clarke?!” I burst into the room panting out of breath from running so quickly to find Leah Evan’s leisurely lounging on her cot in her shared room with Frank Gatlin.

“Ms. Evans- why would you page me 9-1-1?” I scowled at her.

“Well, sugar… I done heard about what Dr. Clarke offered you over in Oasis Springs and I wanted to tell you to take it.”

I’d learned last night during rounds that Leah Evan’s was from Oasis Springs (as if her accent didn’t tip me off when she was thanking me for saving her).

“Ms. Evans that is really none of your business. How are you feeling?” I asked as I grabbed a thermometer and lightly shoved it into her mouth before she could lecture me again.

“97.8- normal temp…” I said as I jotted it down into her chart and quickly resumed my exam.

“Now- Ms. Carnegie… you only get these kinds of opportunities once in a lifetime and I’m telling you that this is your chance.”

“You wouldn’t understand Ms. Evan’s- I am from a legacy family… I can’t just pick up and go.” I sighed as I lightly palpated her abdomen.

“You sure can, whose stopping you suga…” Suddenly, her whole body convulsed into a massive spasm and foam protruded from her mouth. I jammed the red panic button on the wall next to her bed and within 30 seconds Dr. Clarke was in performing compression’s and giving her medications.

After about an hour of life saving measures- she was gone. Dead. We’d done everything… everything. I wish I could have done more, but I didn’t know enough to be able to do more. I felt horrible the rest of the week… I moped around and asked myself “why… why couldn’t I save her?”. The only conclusion I had was that I didn’t know enough to realize a problem before it happened… I should have run scans, done a full work up.

After going over all the things I should have done- I came to the conclusion that there was one thing I was going to do… for Ms. Evans… and it wasn’t going to be easy..

 

Leave a comment